Pep Guardiola, the manager of Manchester City, has been crowned LMA Manager of the Year

Pep Guardiola of Manchester City has been crowned the League Managers’ Association manager of the year.
Guardiola guided City to their third Premier League victory in four seasons, finishing 12 points ahead of nearest rivals Manchester United and winning the League Cup for the fourth time in a row.
The club also won the Carabao Cup this season and will meet Chelsea in Saturday’s Champions League final.
The five other managers in contention were Leeds’ Marcelo Bielsa, Norwich City’s Daniel Farke, Chelsea Women’s Emma Hayes, David Moyes of West Ham and Leicester’s Brendan Rodgers.
“I am delighted to win the LMA manager of the year award for the second time,” said Guardiola, who previously won it in 2017-18.
“Because it is voted for by my other managers, it is such an important award for me to win.” However, a manager can only win an award like this if he or she is surrounded by great professionals.
“My players have been incredible; their commitment and professionalism have never wavered, even during the most difficult season we’ve ever had.”
“My staff, too, is deserving of the greatest accolades. I am extremely fortunate to work with a group of individuals who give everything they have every day to ensure Manchester City is the best it can be.
“They are the recipients of this prize, which is dedicated to them and shared with them.”
“As well as being a genuinely brilliant manager and leader, you constantly demonstrate wonderful humility and poise, and I am sure your family must be very proud of you,” said LMA Executive Committee member Sir Alex Ferguson.

Leave a Comment